What is Inner Line Permit (ILP) ? Know in detail

Why in News ???

The inner line permit (ILP) regime was extended to Manipur on 11th December 2019 with President Ram Nath Kovind signing the order in this effect.

The decision cane after Union Home Minister Amit Shah announced in Lok Sabha that the Inner Line Permit (ILP) would be extended to Manipur.

Where is Inner Line Permit applicable in India ?

  • Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, and Nagaland have the Inner line Permit regime.
  • Manipur is the fourth state where the Inner Line Permit regime will be applicable.
  • Certain parts of the Leh district in erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir. ( Now Ladakh UT)

What is Inner Line Permit (ILP) ?

The Inner Line Permit is an official document issued by the government of India to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected area for a limited period.

The Inner Line Permit are of different kinds-

  • It is granted both on short and long-term basis and has provision for outsiders to stay as long as one year in an Inner Line Permit zone for employment purpose.
  • It's not applicable for armed forces and central government workers or employee.
  • The Inner Line permit is issued by the concerned state government and can be availed both by applying online or on person.
  • The rules vary from state to state
  • The document states the dates of travel and specifies the particular areas in which the Inner Line Permit holder can travel.
  • It's illegal for the visitors to overstay the time granted in the permit.
  • If the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) is implement without the Inner Line Permit, then the beneficiaries under Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB) will become Indian citizens and will be allowed to settle anywhere in the country.

How did it start ??

The Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation (BEFR) , 1873,
  • After the British full consolidated their position over the entire Assam region, they introduced the Inner Line in 1873, going beyond the Frontier Line required a licence.
  • The hills in the North East were made a Non-Regulation province of British India where they retained administrative control with minimum interference.
  • It was a regulations meant for segregating the populace of the hills from.those of the plains.
  • The Regulations earmarked rules regarding trade and possession of the land within the Inner Line.
  • The BEFR intended to protect the British monarchy's interest in tea, oil and elephants trade by preventing 'British Subject's (Indians from plains) from entering into these protected areas.
  • The term British subjects was changed to Citizen of India in 1950 but the Inner Line Permit continued to be used by the government to protect tribal cultures in north-eastern India.

Inner Line Permit in Manipur

  • The Manipur (Hill areas) District Council Act, 1971, passed by Parliament, cleared the path for the establishment of six Autonomous District Councils in the state in 1972. But they have much lower powers compared to ADCs under Six schedule.
  • In August 2018, the state assembly had passed the Manipur people's protection Act. But the law failed to get President's Assent.
  • Implementation of the Inner Line Permit regime in Manipur would enable the state to issue permits to non-residents of the state visiting it and regulate their period of stay.

What is Protected Area Permit ?

The Foreigners Order 1958 states that a Protected Area Permit is required for Non-Indian citizens to visit certain areas in India.

  • All of Sikkim
  • Part of Arunachal Pradesh
  • Part of Himachal Pradesh
  • Part of Jammu & Kashmir
  • Part of Rajasthan
  • Part of Uttarakhand
  • Part of Laddakh UT

What is Inner Line Permit (ILP) ? Know in detail 5 of 5

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post